The Green Mop ®

Eco-Friendly Residential/Commercial Cleaning Company

What is wrong with YELP?

Someone did an analysis of what our real rating would be if Yelp didn't filter all of our good ratings intentionally.  They do this to "encourage us" small business to advertise with them as if we had the good ratings we DO really have if they didn't filter them - then we wouldn't need to pay them for advertising.  I refuse to be subjected to this blackmail and so I pay the price for the refusal.  Check this out below!  We are really a 4.48 out of 5 rate company!! Wow!


Sharon Lyell Moak - Tony, I have done a preliminary analysis on your business, The Green Mop. Your unfiltered reviews leave you with 2.6 stars. If you average all your reviews including the filtered ones, it's 4.48. I picked the first 2 cleaning services in DC whose ads pop up on your page, and here are the results: CAOS DC Cleaning Services unfiltered=4.2 all=4.3 MaidPro of Capitol Hill unfiltered=3.6, all=3.8. See what Yelp does to businesses that don't pay vs those that do? This is what I'm seeing over and over.


I FOUND A WHOLE STOP YELP MOVEMENT OUT THERE!

http://www.change.org/petitions/stop-yelp-start-holding-yelp-accountable-for-the-reviews-written-on-their-website

 

In my opinion, Yelp is just a terrible system that is fatally flawed run by greed by a company that appears to have no moral compass. Basically Yelp has been filtering all of our positive reviews out of their system due to their drive to generate more income and is leaving all of the phony ones from competitors who are trying to minimize our dominance in the cleaning space in the DC, Maryland, and Northern Virginia area.  We have tried to fight them but its not easy as they have "free speech" rights on their side.

I have tried to warn their/our customers as to their dirty tactics and games on their web site and they threatened to not allow me to respond to customers any more if I did it again and also removed my comments exposing their evil system.  I provided clear proof of these fake responses and they just chose to ignore me and the issues. It appears they only care about the money they are making and not whether they have an honest system and I think they should be put out of business for what they are doing to good businesses with their evil ways.  

People are being misled thinking they are avoiding "bad" businesses.  Yelp charges businesses a lot for advertising - what a conflict of interest. I have submitted complaints through BBB and the FTC as have a lot of businesses now.  Check out their own reviews of Yelp online! They now have more 1 star ratings than 5 stars! Surprised they haven't "altered" their program to falsely show a higher rating for themselves!

The Filtered reviews

45 Filtered Reviews for The Green Mop

Note: The reviews below are not factored into the business's overall star rating.

5 stars out of 5 stars

11/16/2012

I am really shocked about all these "bad" reviews about the green mop!  I have been using them since they opened their doors.  They do a great job each time and I have no issues with any of the employees.  I will continue to use them and recommend them.

  • 0 friends
  • 1 review

Washington, DC

 5 stars out of 5 stars
11/7/2012

I'm only posting a review because I find most of the bad reviews shocking.  I've been a loyal Green Mop customer for 3 years, and Tony and Queni have been nothing but professional, friendly and accomodating.  The Green Mop cleaning staff are thorough and very respectful of my home, have never broken anything, and if I need them to give anything a little extra attention, I only have to ask.  They are the most reasonably priced cleaning service in the area, so I forgive them for the sometimes confusing online scheduling- email is best.  I had one bad experience, when I came home to find the cleaning unacceptable, and when I complained, they sent another team out to reclean, free of charge, without any hesitation or objection.  Tony, Queni, and all of the customer service staff have gone out of their way to accomodate my schedule, even when I've cancelled at the last minute.  Then again, I'm not rude and disrespectful towards them, as many of the other reviewers clearly were.  I suppose if I bought a $35 house cleaning from LivingSocial, then sent nasty emails to the cleaning company over a misunderstanding, I might expect a less than friendly response.

 
Photo of Krystal C.
  • 0 friends
  • 1 review

Arlington, VA

5 stars out of 5 stars
11/2/2012

I have tried a few cleaning services in the area and The Green Mop is by far the very best! The customer service is awesome, they really care about their clients and are always willing to help work with your schedule - Not to mention everyone that works for the company is extremely friendly! I also have a small dog and they even called to check in with me at my office to let me know he was happy and behaved without barking as they cleaned! So if you're looking for a pet friendly company, The Green Mop is perfect for you! My apartment has never shined and sparkled so much :)

Photo of L A.
  • 0 friends
  • 45 reviews

Washington, DC

5 stars out of 5 stars
10/28/2012

The Green Mop crew of 2 cleaned my 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath condo for 2 hours and did a spectacular job! They worked very hard, the place was clean as new and the kitchen and baths were sparkling. I would definitely use them again.

Photo of Joelle G.
  • 0 friends
  • 2 reviews

Arlington, VA

5 stars out of 5 stars
9/25/2012

I have been using Green Mop for over a year, and I have only good things to say about the company, the employees and the service they provide. I have them come every 2-3 weeks and they stay for two hours. They are consistently able to complete a comprehensive cleaning within those two hours, and usually have time for an extra here or there (one time my shoes were all neatly arranged in my closet, one time they cleaned in between the windows and screens not just the inside glass like usual).

There are a few things in particular I appreciate about Green Mop:

1. I like that they charge by the hour. In total, I am paying more than I would with other cleaning services; however, they charge by the hour for two employees to come to our house, so I always know exactly what I am getting for my money. If they rush through it, they would not be able to charge as much, and if they spend the full two hours, there is no question that they will be able to do a quality job on the cleaning. It is so frustrating to pay for someone to clean your house, only to come home and have the end result fall short of expectations. This does not happen with Green Mop, and I think it really helps having them charge by the actual time spent on the cleaning. There is no incentive to rush through.

2. They use green products, which is a big selling point for me. I will admit that I have clorox in my cabinet, but I only pull it out and use it on occassion. The employees of Green Mop spend all day every day cleaning and I think it is really important that they are not exposed to harsh chemicals for 40 hours/week. The products they are using work well, and I feel better about having them come in to clean knowing there is not a health risk/occupational hazard associated with the job.

3. Availability and communication - they are always available with a day or two notice, they respond promptly to emails and phone calls and communicate on the day of cleaning to let me know when exactly they will be arriving. Additionally, the couple times I did notice something that was missed, I let them know before the next visit, and they made a permanent note on my file, so it would never happen again - and it hasn't. I know they would come right back out and fix it if I called immediately, but it was always minor so I just let them know the next time I arranged a cleaning.

4. Friendly, thorough and trustworthy staff - Every single employee I have met has been very friendly, easy to work with, and has taken care with our belongings, etc. After the first couple visits, we started leaving keys in the mailbox and they let themselves in and lock up on their way out. We have never had a single issue and I don't think twice about leaving my house unattended. Once time I came home early, and they were in the house, but the door was locked behind them, and I still needed the key to let myself in. Clearly no one was getting in or out while they were working on the house.

I originally chose Green Mop because of the stellar Yelp reviews. When I went online today I noticed that there were a couple negative reviews mixed in with the positive, so I decided I should write about my experience. I am guessing there are extenuating circumstances on the negative reviews, since I can't think of a single complaint after more than 25 visits.

Photo of Ben H.
  • 0 friends
  • 1 review

Bethesda, MD

5 stars out of 5 stars
8/25/2012

After an impressive job during the initial cleaning, we've been using the Green Mop to clean our home for the past two months at a bi-weekly rate of $70 per hour for two cleaners. I like that the crew arrives on time, is polite, and that the crew works hard during their time at the home. We have dogs and cats, so dust and pet hair are our big cleaning concerns, which they have addressed to our satisfaction.

I would definitely recommend the Green Mop for either a one time cleaning, or for a scheduled service.

Photo of Kira M.
  • 0 friends
  • 5 reviews

Washington, DC

4 stars out of 5 stars
4/23/2012

I've been using the Green Mop for more than a year. Compared to the two other cleaning services I've tried, I've found them to be consistently prompt, good communicators and fine cleaners. I'm much happier to find my home smelling of vinegar rather than bleach.

Their web site is a pain and I wish they'd get it re-done, but that's my biggest complaint after about a dozen cleanings, so I'll take it.

It sounds like they might have had too much business with a recent Living Social deal and that's too bad -- I wish they'd stop doing those deals because they seem to attract people who don't use cleaners regularly and have expectations that are all over the board.

Photo of Tom F.
  • 0 friends
  • 2 reviews

Fairfax, VA

5 stars out of 5 stars
3/6/2012

We use Green Mop only occasionally when a big holiday is approaching (Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter etc.) and we have friends and family over. The girls always do an excellent job cleaning and they never mind to do an extra "favor" when we asked them to clean an extra spot. So far we always got a different crew but they were all very friendly and accommodating. Booking is very easy from their website. They are really green and I never saw using them any chemicals in our house. I spoke once with Christian and the owner and they answered all my questions/concerns in a very professional way. I wish every business would be this easy to deal with. I will definitely keep using them and will recommend to anybody who needs excellent cleaning service for very reasonable pricing. Thank you Green Mop!

Photo of rajesh g.
  • 1 friend
  • 6 reviews

Alexandria, VA

5 stars out of 5 stars
9/27/2011

we've been satisfied customers since '08. mia came to our house and did an estimate. 3 women cleaned for 4 hours for the initial appointment. after a few cleanings they established that our home needed a couple of hours on a bi-weekly basis. the green mop has been there for us for general cleaning as well as special cleanings such as steam cleaning our carpets, washing our windows and they even brought in ups packages that were left on our porch. they are serious about environmentally-friendly cleaning practices. as an immigrant, we support the green mop, a woman-owned, minority-owned business. i have recommended them to several moms in our neighborhood as well as to my parents. we intend to keep on using them.

Photo of james y.
  • 8 friends
  • 9 reviews

Washington, DC

5 stars out of 5 stars
Update - 9/27/2011

The Green Mop cleaners came this morning for the 2nd cleaning and just like the initial cleaning, they arrived within the 2 hour window they gave us. The team arrived with written instructions which we provided the office a couple of days ago when we scheduled the appointment. We have signed-up for weekly cleanings. We're very happy with the service and the professionalism the office and the housekeepers continue to show.

1 Previous Review: Show all »

  • 5 stars out of 5 stars
    9/21/2011

    First cleaning was amazing. It was a time-based, thorough cleaning including fans, windows, door… Read more »

Comment from Tony G. of The Green Mop 9/21/2011
Thanks James! Appreciate the comments! Tony More »
Photo of julie b.
  • 0 friends
  • 7 reviews

Gaithersburg, MD

5 stars out of 5 stars
9/27/2011

I was a Greenbacks coupon customer. The two cleaners who cleaned my home were very efficient and did an excellent job. I gave them very specific instructions and they followed them all. The office also sent me an email the morning of my appointment with an ETA. I would definitely hire the Green Mop again.

Photo of rebecca f.
  • 2 friends
  • 8 reviews

Alexandria, VA

5 stars out of 5 stars
9/23/2011

I've used The Green Mop for about 3+ yrs and I'm always pleased with the results. I moved recently and they not only helped me clean my new house before I moved in but after they cleaned my old place one final time the landlord said he had never seen an apartment in that good of a condition on move out. The Green Mop cleaners ROCK!